.: Day 2 – Saint Emilion :.

As a wine lover I was really looking forward to explore Saint Emilion and visit the different châteaux, so for our weekend away in Bordeaux I had to ensure I would visit Saint Emilion. From Bordeaux is really easy to get there, just take the train from the main station, it takes around 45m to get there. Trouble is there are not that many trains available, so you better check online what is the schedule that will work for you.

Even though in the end I couldn’t drink, I still wanted to make my visit. It was a shame it was so cloudy and rainy later on.

It’s a shame also that most of the stores were closed, except for a few wine places. I would have enjoyed just exploring the region goods. More than half of the restaurants were closed as well.

You remember when I’ve said that the Caneles were disappointing to me? Well, not the Saint Emilion Macaroons! They were absolutely delicious! So much better than the macaroons! The flavour of almond, ahh so good. I should have bought boxes of them. I’m in love now, seriously!

We went for one of the only opened restaurants in the area: Le Bouchon and decided for the menu of the day, a warm soup and chicken with tomato sauce. It felt like food I would have at home and not necessarily at the restaurant, but was happy with that

As we left the restaurant it started to rain quite a lot and to be fair I was feeling so exhausted, so we’ve decided to take the train back rather than wait extra 2h30 for the next available one.

I think because of the combination of: me not drinking and feeling tired, low season and everything closed plus the weather we didn’t took the most out of it. I’m looking forward to be back at the high season (around September) to make the most of the vineyards

Here’s an inspired recipe

For dinner, I wanted to visit Le Chien de Pavlov as recommended by our host, but it was already fully booked! But they’ve recommended us their brand new restaurant Potato Head, also by chef Mary et Maxime. Again love the name! Was really excited to try out french fusion food.

Loved the space immediately

For starters we went for the potato risotto

12643036_10206577891220785_4403932058085749131_n

By looking into it, you have no idea on how good it’s going to taste, but oh boy, after the first bite I could feel all the flavours. Really good.

For the main I went for the iberian Pork with sweet potato (I love sweet potato)

12654484_10206577892460816_1071877331329297654_n

Again really lush! Loved the apple on the top. Perfectly cooked.

For dessert we went for the chocolaty one, and again quite a big portion

12631316_10206577892620820_8934594680063039285_n

Loved the whole meal and the whole experience. Service was really friendly and I would be back in a blink of the eye. I dare say, the best meal of the year so far!

Have a lovely Easter Break 🙂

4 thoughts on “.: Day 2 – Saint Emilion :.

Would like to hear your thoughts