.: New York – Day 4 :.

The holidays fly too fast, don’t they? Working week again… 😦

At least the holidays were good for catching up with all the photos from New York! Getting there I hope
As you remember, on our 3rd day in NY it was really rainy. I was hoping for a better day the next day, if for no other reason, just because it was my birthday! But I’m afraid it was mostly cloudy and a bit rainy and quite cold.

We woke up early in the morning (still in UK time), and after another delicious breakfast we’ve headed up to visit the Statue of Liberty. I’ve booked the tickets online (which is totally recommended to avoid big queues).

We didn’t enjoy the cruise as much because it was cold! The views are really nice though. Once we’ve reached the island we’ve decided to walk around first, but it was too windy

Did you know that the Statue of Liberty was a gift from France to US and was designed by Gustave Eiffel (the same guy behind the famous Tour Eiffel)?

I’m sure the views are a lot better on a sunny day. We’ve decided to stop by our best friend Starbucks to warm up for some coffee before carrying on walking all the way until lunch.

I was fascinated by this building, because it’s simply concrete with pretty much no windows

For lunch I wanted to visit ABC Cocina, quite a well known restaurant in NY by Michelin start Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten. I’ve really enjoyed the quirky decor and the friendly (and good looking too) staff

Photo from google

It looked really promising! The main concept of ABC Cocina is a relax environment to share some tapas with your friends. We’ve ordered 3 each from the lunch menu

shaved beets, portobello mushrooms, queso blancoand herbs

12234990_10206111548482508_5576375096233269307_n

mushroom empanadas withgreenchili mayo

The starters were really tasty.

12241335_10206111549122524_3720257618312180343_n

crispy chickensalad, salanova lettuce, citrus dressing, market vegetables

My salad was really fresh and the chicken crispy as it should be.

The disappointment was the dessert, this was supposed to be a white rice pudding (and I was thinking of the yummy cinnamon flavoured rice pudding from Portugal), but the citrus compote was simply too much. Couldn’t enjoy the combination of flavours and didn’t manage to finish it either.

12240022_10206111549562535_3141662499159209497_n

caramelized whitechocolaterice pudding

So I would say that, even though I’ve enjoyed the ambiance, it didn’t match the expectation. The food wasn’t that memorable for me. Maybe I went for the wrong choices. I would say the starters were the best.

ABC Cocina Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

11/11 is also a very special day all over the world because it’s remembrance day (Poppy day in UK) and means the end of WWI. In France it’s actually a bank holiday. In US they do the veterans day parade, which started at 11a.m and at 16h it was still on-going.

The other highlight I had saved for today was a visit to the famous Empire State building. It feels it takes forever to get to the top due to the queues, but it’s so worth it! Loved it all. It’s a shame it wasn’t as sunny as I had imagined in my head, still breathtaking

Back to the 5th avenue, the parade was still on-going

6 thoughts on “.: New York – Day 4 :.

  1. Oh, I loved your photos! All of them – the buildings, the streets and the view from the top, omg. Never been in NYC, but it’s in my plans. How much time did you stayed, just four days? It was enough to get to know the city?

    Like

    • MissLilly says:

      Hi Ana πŸ™‚ I’ve stayed 7 days (I haven’t posted all the days yet, work in progress). I would recommend around 5 days. With 7 days we could have explored a bit further out of Manhattan but we’ve decided to walk a lot and just relax.

      Like

  2. New York has been on my travel list for the longest time. Wish I make it someday soon. Love all these pictures ! Especially the view from Empire State Building. Can’t wait to read about the rest of the trip. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • MissLilly says:

      Hi Sumaica, thanks for your comments πŸ™‚ I have the full posts now available on the blog so feel free to have a look. Hope you make it to NY pretty soon, it is totally worth it, better than I imagined

      Liked by 1 person

Would like to hear your thoughts

