.: Lost in the world of Travel Blogs :.

I do spend a lot of time reading blogs and there are really good ones out there! But I have to say I am amazed by the number of blogs out there, there are loads! And all of them really good ones. So I can imagine how hard it must be to get recognised as the few selected ones people follow and how they manage to get themselves recognised as their own brand. But before I dive into some of the things I find that make a difference, what I was really keen on talking about is a common trend among all of them:

“How I’ve quite my city job to follow my dream and travel”

Seriously, 99% of the times I find this sentence in the About section and then I wonder, does that mean I’m not brave enough to do so? Again, as said, because there are lots of blogs out there and because it’s not all just roses (as you will read in some of them as well), I would say you should only be doing it if you are really sure! Are you willing to sell most of your possessions, leave your Home and just explore the world? It may look all exciting in the first month or so, but are you prepared to feel lonely and find your way alone in a foreign place? For some this may be a yes to all the questions, but it’s not for everybody.

Why not take it part-time?

If you expect to be making a life out of it, I would recommend to start in baby steps and simply use your holidays or long weekends to explore around or even maybe – if your job allows – reduce it to a smaller number of hours so you can travel more. If you find that you are really happy and your readers like what you share, why not take a step forward? You may also come to the conclusion that, like the majority of us, you should stay in your job – or if you are really unhappy move into a more suitable job – and just share your holidays and exploring when you have the chance to.

My own thoughts

I used to travel for work every week for almost 3 years and although most of my friends found that I was really lucky and they wanted to do the same, I was longing for a chance to be home and sleep in my bed. Yes, I do love to travel and explore new places, but the reality was I was moving from one box to the other: Taxi > Airport > Plane > Train > Office > Hotel. I didn’t explore as much as I could. Also it felt really lonely having dinner on my own every night or feeling sick in the hotel and not being able to speak the language to visit a doctor.

I love to leave just to have the pleasure of returning back Home

By that I mean that I love going out and exploring BUT I also love being Home, so I would probably not be suitable for travelling 365 and always being away. But would happily do it twice a month and a few long travels along the year. I also love exploring around me, and for that I can just wake up in the morning and visit a new area where I’ve never been.

For me it feels really brave to leave it all behind and start something brand new and I’m glad some of you do it so I can travel through reading šŸ™‚

My Favourite Travel Blogs

  • Hello Twiggs – She explores Lisbon like no one else I know. It’s all about exploring local šŸ™‚ I’ve met her in Lisbon while working on the same consulting company, so I really find her story fascinating. She was learning and experimenting a lot as a hobby and she started to become recognised, until she ended up doing it as a career. She writes beautifully, she takes amazing photos and she even does digital design.
  • Flying the Nest – Love the articles and the photos
  • Alex in Wanderland – Again a gorgeous blog with really good photos – I guess by now you’ve noticed that I really love a blog with good photos! I’m like the kids, pictures first words after šŸ™‚
  • Hand Luggage Only – Seriously these 2 must be my favourite bloggers! I love all the posts, they always look so fun and amazing. Maybe one day I’ll have the chance to meet them šŸ™‚
  • World of Wanderlust – For me this is The Travel Blog. Brooke is quite a successful blogger and she managed to create a brand of her own, quite impressive considering she’s only 23! But she’s perfect at it. The thing I like the most is she also shares the “less good moments”. If you want to get inspired, this is a place to go!
  • Mrs O around the world – Ah, a blog that I really relate to (except for the wallet!) I love all her posts (and I swear it’s not just because she’s also portuguese!), I love her photos. The ultimate luxury blog. Expect to find lots of class here šŸ™‚
3 thoughts on “.: Lost in the world of Travel Blogs :.

Would like to hear your thoughts

