.: Exploring Lille on a rainy day :.

Yap, it was raining cats & dogs. In fact it was even snowing on Saturday morning in Surrey, as we were leaving UK! While it has been snowing quite a lot in north of the island, not so much in the south, so we were quite surprised to see the snow. Surrey looks quite beautiful in white 🙂

Crapy photo from my phone

The journey from London to Lille wasn’t that bad actually. We drove all the way from home to Dover, which took us around 2h (there was a lot of traffic on the m25 after 3 accidents in a row!), but you can also use the Eurostart from London Kings Cross to Lille (roughly 1h). Then we took the ferry, which we’ve booked in advance. If you want to cross the channel by car check the Eurotunnel, if there’s nothing available you can check the ferrys here. If I had booked a bit in advance I could have saved £40. Oh well! It took us 1h30 by ferry, but… because you need to go through passport control and security (which is really really quick) and the boarding starts 30m prior to departure, means you need to reach the port roughly 40/45m before departure.

Once we’ve reached Calais was only 1h10 to reach our hotel (L’Hermitage Gartois – I’ll do a different post to review the hotel and our meals). After we left our car and the bags, we went for a walk into the city centre.

I have to say we were a bit unlucky as it was raining cats & dogs, seriously! We managed to take the first pictures and suddenly we had to go indoors somewhere. I almost managed to ruin my camera and some of the photos look really foggy.

You know what they say right? If a place looks beautiful in the rain, it will look even better if it was sunny. And I’ve really enjoyed my short stay in Lille. Oh, I have to mention the stores. Gosh, the stores are so beautiful and brilliantly decorated (Maybe I’ve been living for London for too long!) I wanted to buy everything!

Grand Palace – this area is so beautiful!!!

The first store we’ve visited was called La Chambreaux Confitures. Gorgeous and really unique! You can buy chocolate cream, marmalades, and different sauces for both meat, cheese and anything else you can imagine! They also have these gorgeous candles!

Sweet sauces for cheese! Can I have them all?

I love the fact that they have small bottles. It’s perfect for me as I tend not to finish the big ones.

Why don’t we have stores like this in UK? We do, but it’s hard to find them, overall the cities don’t have the same presentation as in Europe, especially in France

Next stop, Meert! Look at all these happy calories smiling at me

 

The Moelleaux au chocolat is their signature sweet

I didn’t manage to find a table at Meert. Even just to buy something there was a queue. But I was willing not go give up without my cake

Le Vin – We’ve actually returned to this store to buy some wine

Because it’s quite close to Belgium, it’s also very easy to find really good beer in Lille.

In the old part of the city, all the houses have these cute little doors

This is how dreams are made 🙂

Cathedral

A Vespa in the rain

Beautiful colour isn’t it?

 

Details

The old town is beautiful!

Lady in the rain

More details

Oui! J’adore le fromage!

More cheese

Looks so creamy and yummy!

Shopping: Wine, Cheese, Marmalades and a cake

Silhouette a la Sherlock in London 🙂

Something in the sky

Morning snack

Have you been in Lille before? Any thoughts you would like to share? What was your favourite place?

5 thoughts on “.: Exploring Lille on a rainy day :.

Would like to hear your thoughts

