.: Eggs Benedict – Chiswick :.

Everyone knows the perfect thing for a lazy sunday is a nice brunch outside – except if the weather is crap then the perfect plan is to be lazy indoors. Today it seemed to be sunny, obviously with english weather by the time we were outside it was mostly cloudy, windy and cold. But I was keen on having a brunch outside so off we went.

I had High Road Brasserie on my wishlist for a while, having passed by hundreds of times, as it’s conveniently located in the Chiswick High Road.

Because it was a last minute decision I didn’t book it, which means there was a waiting list already to stay indoors. We’ve decided to try outdoors as they had “heating”. Forget it, I couldn’t take my jacket off, so it wasn’t as pleasant as it could have been.

The service was pretty quick (well there was almost no one outdoors anyway) and polite. We’ve ordered some capuccinos and still water to start with. The capuccinos were really tasty

I’ve also ordered the eggs benedict £9 (this is the type of brunch I wanted) plus the mushrooms £3 and he had the eggs royale £9 plus spinach £4. Again we didn’t had to wait long for the food

It was pretty tasty, but again nothing extraordinary either. We’ve paid almost £40 for a brunch… it’s a bit expensive I would say. Maybe I will try a normal main next time and hopefully indoors, but I wasn’t that much convinced with my first visit, except for the capuccino.

  • Location: 4/5 – It’s in Chiswick high road – great for walking or bus, not great to go by car
  • Service: 3.5/5 – Service was polite and quick
  • Food: 3/5 – Not memorable at all and not worth the price
  • Overall experience: 3/5 – It’s a place you will easily forget

We walked just a little bit, but it was too cold to carry on, so we’ve returned back home

Would like to hear your thoughts

