.: Lake Constance :.

While it’s quite cold outside, I was checking some old photos and I’ve realised that I had never shared my photos from Lake Constance (Bodensee in German). I went to Lake constance with some friends from Germany. We did a tour all the way from Bochum, down to Frankfurt and then Konstanz.

The lake is situated in Germany, Switzerland and Austria near the Alps. Specifically, its shorelines lie in the German federal states of Bavaria and Baden-Württemberg, the Austrian federal state of Vorarlberg, and the Swiss cantons of Thurgau, St. Gallen and Schaffhausen. The Rhine flows into it from the south following the Austro-Swiss frontier.

All I can say is, it’s such an amazing place!!! The perfect relaxation for a summer day. The town around the lake are pretty lovely as well. It feels like paradise 🙂

You wake up in the morning and this can be your view

Our morning breakfast

Totally miss this food! German bakery is excellent!

Then we went to explore the Unesco Village Unteruhldingen – a pre-historical village. It is an incredible place! I could hardly believe I had a chance to see something like this in the middle of the Lake 😀

All the towns around are so lovely

Delicious pizza (it’s not a pizza, but I can’t remember the name) and local wine

After lunch we went to visit a medieval castle (Burg Meersburg) in Meersburg.

Drawing from the Grimm brothers

Then we did a boat tour, which is totally awesome

Beautiful isn’t it? I can hardly wait to be back.

Tips:

  • The best way to reach lake constance is by taking a flight to Zurich and then a train to Constance. It takes roughly 1h. Because I was in the German side, I had to swap trains.
  • It’s very easy to move around the lake by taking the local bus
Would like to hear your thoughts

