.: Give me a pillow and some warm food – Germany:.

While I haven’t touched my photos yet… sharing where we’ve stayed and restaurants we’ve visited.

Transport

The best way to get from the airport to the city is by taking a train. There are regular trains from the airport to the city centre (5.30€ per person) or even to nearby cities such as Cologne, Duisborg, Essen, Bochum, Dortmund (I still know the sequence by heart!). You can buy the ticket straight at the sky train station in the airport. From the city centre you can either walk or take a taxi which is what we did. It was around 10m journey and we’ve paid €10. You can also take the underground or any bus, it costs €2.50 per journey.

Hotel

First night we’ve stayed in Dusseldorf Courtyard Hafen – which is located in the harbourside of Dusseldorf, roughly 20m walking along the river to the city centre.

(Note all the photos below, except if mentioned, were taken from google)

The fireplace – as mentioned in the previous post – was gorgeous

Our room was pretty spacious and comfortable bed too

View from our room (with my mobile phone)

Service was really friendly throughout our stay and as I know this is critical for some of you, the wifi was pretty good too.

Dinner @ Dusseldorf

Because our flight got delayed, I ended up not going to the Christmas markets in the city, but we’ve decided to have some food in the hotel itself.

Beer!!! It’s so good

The food wasn’t that great to be honest, I felt I had too much cheese. His chicken tasted pretty much the same as my pasta

For dessert we had the applestruddle – again ok but not that brilliant

Lunch – Cologne

For lunch we had a currywurst in the Christmas market. I didn’t took any photo so I’m using google’s

 

 

The best one to me is the Bochum one here (offical website link)

Hotel in Cologne

We’ve stayed in the Marriott Cologne, as it was the perfect location near the main train station

The lobby of the hotel is really beautiful

I have to stay I was a bit disappointed with the service at the reception. There was a big queue and I was dismissed quickly because my room wasn’t ready yet. I’m glad I was a platinum though! But I didn’t let myself to get down as I was counting on a view of my room and the comfort of the famous marriott beds! We left our luggage with the concierge and off we went to explore the markets.

Once we’ve returned after a few mugs and gluwhein’s later, our room. Loved the decoration! A mixture between the Renaissance Zurich (which is still my favourite decor) and the Austrian one – his favourite

The lounge – Pretty big actually!

The view from the lounge

For dinner I wanted a nice German spot, but it was full already (Weinhaus Vogel) so we ended up to one which we’ve noticed while exploring the Christmas Market – Toro Negro

Lovely location, environment but terrible service. We felt really ignored! Poor poor service, gladly the food was really good, The meat really tasty and tender and the potato really tasty too. For the first time in a while we didn’t left any tips

At least it wasn’t expensive

Because a restaurant isn’t only about the food, I was glad once I was out! Really poor service

We then went to enjoy the Christmas markets and had an amazing sleep in our comfortable bed 😀 Breakfast next morning was pretty good too (we had it in the lounge) and headed back to Dusseldorf.

Would like to hear your thoughts

