.: Francesinhas and Soup :.

Yap, this week has been quite busy and I’m still feeling a bit sick, so haven’t explored that much this week really.

We’ve spend Sunday with our friends, so it was quite relaxing. We had the best sandwich in the world for lunch (find other great sandwiches around the world here), and no, don’t worry, I’m not becoming English and having a sandwich for lunch with something and mayo and some chips.

Brace yourselves, ready? This is it: Francesinha

Francesinha is a Portuguese sandwich originally from Porto, made with bread, wet-cured ham, fresh sausage like chipolata, steak or roast meat and covered with melted cheese and a hot thick tomato and beer sauce served with french fries. So yes, it’s a caloric bomb, but it’s so good! Really! And it’s quite unexpected to find such a nice one here in UK. Yummy!

Another great sandwich is “Bifana” – which consists of pork meat cooked with garlic (loads of fresh garlic) and mustard. It can be commonly found near football stadiums and it’s best served with a cold beer. I love Bifana’s too.

After all the food we’ve relaxed outdoors, even if it was really cold. Winter is coming it seems!

But all that is good ends quick, and soon it was Monday again. Pfff

Good news is, I had room upgrade:

I’ve spend most of my evening inside the bed as I was feeling so cold! Also because I just couldn’t bare to go outside after leaving the office (around 20h) I had dinner in the hotel as well. Day 1 had a lovely Salmon (as the fish of the day)

Yesterday, my stomach was hurting so badly I’ve decided to stick with a creamy soup. Really tasty!

So I guess the lesson here is that, even though hotel food tends to be pricey, sometimes is worth checking the menu, as they may have interesting daily offers and really good food.

By the way, did you know I’m doing a list of 30 things I want to do in my 30 days before I’m 30? Feel free to check it in my main blog here.

Would like to hear your thoughts

