.: More about Budapest :.

Hello,

How is the week going? I hope mine is going a bit more smoothly than last week. Anyway, because I only had 1 day to explore the city, and still I haven’t posted all I wanted in my previous post, just wanted to share a few more things.

Where to stay

For work I used to stay at the Marriott, which I would totally recommend, as the views from the rooms are just amazing, and if you can get access to the lounge you’ll have (almost) 360 view over the city. It was the best view I had until I went there to explore.

The restaurant downstairs it’s pretty nice too. I had a few meals there (as I didn’t had time to go anywhere else, shameful I know)

It is a bit expensive (from a Budapest point of view), but it’s worth it! The location is perfect. For my weekend away, I ended up going to the Courtyard, because I thought it wasn’t that far from the Marriott, but it turns out it’s still quite a walk anyway – it’s a boring walk, otherwise I wouldn’t mind.

Tip: Unless your fare already includes breakfast, I would recommend a breakfast somewhere out in the city. Budapest is quite well known for having good breakfast and brunches.

Dinner

I had dinner @ Paris Budapest Restaurant because I’ve really enjoyed the first time I went there and I really wanted to go there again. And being so original as I am, I had the same food again (as a friend of mine says, you don’t change the winning team – even though I really like to try new stuff)

I had the ink squid risotto. Really tasty as I remembered it:

I had it with an Hungarian white wine.

By the way, did you know that Hungary has really good wines? They really go unnoticed (a bit like the portuguese ones I have to say) You can find a few in UK too (check for example waitrose cellar)

Find a blogger in the area

I would say this is quite an essential one. Why not check for bloggers in the area and check their local recommendations?

Lost in Budapest

or

Adrian Knows

How to get there

I tend to book nowadays by googling for a local taxi company and booking it online. First of all it’s stress free and then it saves you money too. If you forget about it, then you can do it in the airport, it’s 13€ per person to your destination and you will share the taxi with someone else. If you take a random taxi it will cost you roughly 36€.

Any tips you would like to share?

Would like to hear your thoughts

