.: A lazy Sunday in Notting Hill :.

It was my friend’s last day in UK (she’s moving back to Luxembourg) so I really wanted to enjoy a nice meal with her before she left. The choice was Notting Hill, because it’s such a lovely neighbourhood in London anyway!

Could easily see myself living here! Although I used to live relatively close by in Maida Vale. I guess because we were talking, I didn’t took that many photos.

For lunch we went to The Commander 

I have to say I have mixed feelings about this place. We went there for lunch, so it wasn’t very busy at all. The location is in quiet Notting Hill, so it seems quite a perfect choice after (or before) a walk in the area. The Decor looks really lovely and cosy. Again, could be the perfect place to relax and enjoy a meal.

The choice of drinks seems to be really good too (from cocktails, to a good collection of wines, gins etc). I had a non-alcoholic cocktail, which was quite refreshing and tasting.

But when you visit a restaurant you want the whole experience, most of all the food and the service. Service wise the employees were polite but service was very slow. We didn’t wait much to order the drinks and the menus, neither to receive the starters, but after that it went quite slow. We even managed to receive the bill before the deserts (we’ve asked for it at the same time). It didn’t seem to lack of employees, so maybe they needed more help in the kitchen. Don’t know.
Regarding food, we had spicy courgette and king prawns for starters, then sunday roast and a burger.

(Sorry, I recognize this wasn’t a brilliant photo)

The burger was tasteless, I guess they forgot to season the meat or something, but the chips were quite good. The Sunday Roast was quite nice, but nothing extraordinary either. (By the way, did you know Sunday Roast is now the national favourite dish? Yap, it has won even the famous Tikka Masala)

For desserts (which took more than 20m to arrive) we had the creme brulee and the peanut butter chocolate mousse.

Both quite delicious. Also I had a capuccino (illy coffee yes!!!) which thankfully was really good.
Overall I think it’s a nice place to relax in the afternoon with some cocktails and something to go with it (I didn’t try the oysters), but as a meal didn’t surprise me that much (not for the price, which for 2 was around £70)

Now I’m feeling quite sleepy, time for relaxing in the couch and listen to some music.

How do you enjoy your Sundays?

5 thoughts on “.: A lazy Sunday in Notting Hill :.

Would like to hear your thoughts

